Home » For Lawyers » Awards & Award Recipients » Judge Nora Guinn Award

Judge Nora Guinn Award 

Nominations Sought for the Judge Nora Guinn Award

The Board of Governors is soliciting nominations for an Alaska Bar Association award honoring Alaska District Court Judge Nora Guinn of Bethel, who died July 6, 2005.  The award will be presented to a person who has made an extraordinary or sustained effort to assist Alaska’s Bush residents, especially its Native population, overcome language and cultural barriers to obtaining justice through the legal system, a goal to which Judge Guinn was firmly committed throughout her long career as a judge and community activist.

Nominations should include a detailed description of the nominee’s contributions to Alaska Natives and other Bush community residents.

Please send your nomination to the Alaska Bar Association, attn. Deborah O'Regan, Executive Director, P.O. Box 100279, Anchorage, AK 99510 or via e-mail to

Deadline:  March 1

Past Award Recipients

  • 2016: Judge Elaine Andrews
  • 2015: Lisa Jaeger
  • 2014: David Voluck
  • 2013: Peter Ashman
  • 2012: Magistrate Arlene Clay (Ret. and 99 years old)
  • 2011: Michael Biderman
  • 2010: No award presented.
  • 2009: Judge Richard Erlich
  • 2008: Judge Michael I. Jeffery
  • 2007: Craig McMahon (posthumous)


     Alaska Time Designed and Developed by Tex R Us LLC.