Home » For Lawyers » Awards & Award Recipients

Awards and Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2017 award recipients!

2017 Board of Governor Awards

Download a historical list of the Board of Governor Awards.

2017 Bryan P. Timbers Pro Bono Awards

  • Sue Ellen Tatter - Solo Practitioner
  • Michael Lessmeier - Firm

View a historical list of the Pro Bono Awards.

2017 Court Community Outreach Award

View a historical list of the Court Community Outreach Awards.

(Back to top)

Additional 2017 Awards

(Back to top)

Distinguished Service Award

  • Honors an attorney for outstanding service to the membership of the Alaska Bar Association.  Award recipients...

Judge Nora Guinn Award

  • Presented to a person who has made an extraordinary or sustained effort to assist Alaska’s rural residents, especially its Native population, overcome language and cultural barriers to obtaining justice through the legal system.  More info & award recipients...

Layperson Service Award

  • Honors a public member for distinguished service to the membership of the Alaska Bar Association.  Award recipients...

Bryan P. Timbers Pro Bono Award(s):

  • These awards recognize the extraordinary pro bono efforts of small/solo practitioners, law firms, and public sector agencies toward closing the justice gap to Alaskans with civil legal needs.  Award recipients...

Professionalism Award

  • Recognizes an attorney who exemplifies the attributes of the true professional, whose conduct is always consistent with the highest standards of practice, and who displays appropriate courtesy and respect for clients and other attorneys. The Professionalism award has traditionally been presented to an attorney in the judicial district where the convention is being held.  Award recipients...

Rabinowitz Public Service Award

  • Given each year by the Board of Trustees of the Alaska Bar Foundation to the individual whose life work has demonstrated a commitment to public service in the State of Alaska. The Award is funded through generous gifts from the public in honor of the late Alaska Supreme Court Justice Jay Rabinowitz.  More info & award recipients...

Robert K. Hickerson Public Service Award

  • Recognizes lifetime achievement for outstanding dedication and service in the State of Alaska in the provision of pro bono legal services or legal services to low income or indigent persons.  More info & award recipients...

International Law Section Human Rights Award

  • Recognizes an Alaska Bar member who has helped advance the field of human rights in international law, either locally or abroad.  More info...

(Back to top)

     Alaska Time Designed and Developed by Tex R Us LLC.