alaskabar.org

Home » Committees/Sections » Sections » Section Newsletters » 2013-05 Section News (May 2013)

May 2013 Section News 

Do you need the Certificate of Attendance OR the Section Evaluation Form?  Download the documents from the Sections homepage.

 


Administrative Law
The next meeting of the Administrative Law section is Monday, June 3, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office, 840 K Street, Suite 100. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Stuart W. Goering at stuart.goering@alaska.gov or 907-269-5200; and Becky Kruse at becky.kruse@alaska.gov or 907-269-3036.  


Admiralty Law
The Admiralty Law section meets quarterly.  The next meeting will be Thursday, May 9, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office, 840 K Street, Suite 100.  This is the last meeting until the fall.  

Local Orders and Slip Opinions.  The discussion will focus on local orders and on slip opinions issued nationwide since the last meeting, addressing maritime personal injury, punitive damages, and other issues pertinent to Alaska.  1 General CLE Credit. Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Steve Shamburek at shamburek@gci.net or 907-522-5339; and Mark Manning at manning@alaska.net or 907-278-9794.


Alaska Native Law
The Alaska Native Law section will meet on Wednesday, May 8, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office, 840 K Street, Suite 100.  This is the last meeting until the fall.

Speed Update.  Modeled after speed dating, various lawyers will provide you a speed Native Law update focusing on a quick-hit review of various Alaska Native issues.  Expect hits on land issues and ANCSA corporations from Jerry Moses, Brennan Cain and Bob Hume.   1 General CLE Credit. Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Melanie Osborne at melanie.osborne@nana.com or 907-265-3794; Brennan Cain at bcain@eyakcorp.com or 907-334-6971; Bruce Anders at banders@ciri.com or 907-263-5503 and Walter Featherly at wfeatherly@pattonboggs.com or 907-263- 6395. 


Alternative Dispute Resolution
The ADR section will meet on Thursday, May 9, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office, 840 K Street, Suite 100. This is the last meeting until the fall.

Neuro-Linguistic Programming.  Section member Tom Owens will present an introduction to neuro-linguistic programming (NLP) as an aid to the practitioner in helping others resolve conflict.  1 General CLE Credit.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact Chair Glenn Cravez at cravez.law.mediation@gci.net or 907-276-3370.


Appellate Law
The Appellate Law section will not meet in May due to the Bar convention.  Meetings will resume in the fall. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Jeff Feldman at feldman@frozenlaw.com or 907-272-3538; Gregory Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5300 and Lloyd Miller at lloyd@sonosky.com or 907-258-6377.


Bankruptcy Law  
The Bankruptcy Section meeting for May will be held on Tuesday May 21, 2013, at 12 noon in Room 250 in the Bankruptcy Court, 605 W. 4th Avenue. Note that this is a week earlier than it would normally be scheduled to avoid any conflicts with travel plans for the Memorial Day weekend.  This will be the last meeting before the summer break until we resume again in September.

Chapter 13 Primer.  Larry D. Compton is the guest speaker and will and discuss current issues and problem areas concerning Chapter 13 cases and plans. 1 General CLE Credit.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.  

For more section information, please contact chair Michelle Boutin at mboutin@rcolegal.com or 907-222-4363.


Business Law  
The Business Law, Corporate Counsel Law and Real Estate Law sections will meet jointly on Tuesday, May 21, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar's office, 840 K Street, Suite 100 (parking is metered on the street).  This is the last meeting until the fall for the Corporate Counsel and Real Estate Law sections.

Avoiding Malpractice Re: Alaska’s Unfair Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act and Distributorship Act.  This will be a panel discussion (the panelists names will be forwarded later). It will also include a discussion of the application of the Unfair Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act to real estate transactions.  1 Ethics CLE Credit.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Matthew Block, blockm@lanepowell.com or 907-264-3309; and John Kauffman, jdkauffman@stoel.com or 907-277-1900.


Corporate Counsel Law
The Business Law, Corporate Counsel Law and Real Estate Law sections will meet jointly on Tuesday, May 21, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar's office, 840 K Street, Suite 100 (parking is metered on the street).  This is the last meeting until the fall for the Corporate Counsel and Real Estate Law sections.

Avoiding Malpractice Re: Alaska’s Unfair Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act and Distributorship Act.  This will be a panel discussion (the panelists names will be forwarded later).  It will also include a discussion of the application of the Unfair Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act to real estate transactions.  1 Ethics CLE Credit.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact Chair Marcia Davis at mdavis@calistacorp.com or 907-907-279-5516.  


Elder Law
The Elder Law section will not meet in May due to the Bar convention.  Meetings will resume in the fall.

For more section information contact Chair Ilona Bessenyey at ilona@bvt-law.com or 907-278-2000.


Employment Law
The Employment Law section will not meet in May.  Meetings will resume in the fall.

Fairbanks Members:  You can attend Employment Law meetings at Cook Schuhmann & Groseclose, Inc., 714 4th Avenue, Suite 200.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Gregory Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5335; and Danielle Ryman at dryman@perkinscoie.com or 907-263-6927.


Environmental/Natural Resources Law  
The Environmental/Natural Resources Law section will not meet again until the fall.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs:  Jamie Linxwiler at jlinxwiler@guessrudd.com or 907-793-2200; Steve Ross at steven.ross@alaska.gov or 907-269-5274; and Tina Sellers at tsellers@gci.com or 907-868-0836.  


Estate Planning & Probate Law 
The Estate Planning/Probate Law section will not meet in May due to the Bar convention.  Meetings will resume in the fall. 

For more section information, please contact Chair Maribeth Conway at maribeth@theconwayfirm.com or 907-278-5291.


Family Law
The Family Law section meet NOT meet in May.  Instead, the section will start the next season early on Tuesday, August 6, 2013 at 12 noon at the Bar office. Judge Kari Kristiansen will discuss best practices in the Palmer Court. 

For more section information, contact co-Chairs Whitney Bostick at 907-929-0888 or whitney@alaskaresolutions.com; Kara Nyquist at 907-301-8873 or karajd2000@aol.com; and Alicia Porter at 907-569-0050 or adporter@alaska.net.


Federal Agency & Congressional Practice Law
The next section meeting will be on Friday, May 17, 2013, at 4 p.m. in Washington, D.C. at Crowell & Moring, 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW;  and at 12 noon at Perkins office, 1029 W. 3rd Avenue, Suite 300, Anchorage. 

Lobby Disclosure Act.  Crowell & Moring LLP’s Ashley Bailey will speak about the federal Lobbying Disclosure Act (LDA or “The Act”), as amended by the Honest Leadership and Open Government Act of 2007.  The LDA requires lobbying firms and other entities that employ lobbyists to register with the Clerk of the House and Secretary of the Senate.  Registered lobbyists periodically must report information about their lobbying activities and expenditures made in recognition of government officials.  Attendees will learn whether they qualify as lobbyists, and if so, whether their employers must register under the Act. Topics will include: 1) criteria for qualifying as a federal lobbyist; 2) when and how to register under the LDA; 3) what to report; 4) how to calculate lobbying expenses; 5) whether to use the Tax Code or LDA method of reporting expenses; 6) when to report expenditures honoring government officials; 7) how to prepare for a lobbying disclosure audit by the GAO; and more. Pizza will be served courtesy of Perkins Coie in Anchorage.  1 General CLE Credit. Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Bill Falsey at 202-778-2300 or wfalsey@foxkiser.com and Christine Williams at 907-279-8561 or cwilliams@perkinscoie.com 


Health Law
The Health Law section will meet on Thursday, May 2, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office, 840 K Street, Suite 100.

CLE Planning - The section NEEDS YOUR IDEAS! Co-chairs Barbra Nault and Carolyn Heyman-Layne encourage as many members as possible to attend this planning meeting for the September section-sponsored CLE.  Executive Committee members should plan to attend if schedules allow.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Carolyn Heyman-Layne at heyman-layne@alaskalaw.pro or 907-677-3600; and Barbara Nault at bnault@gsblaw.com or 907-258-2400.


Immigration Law
There Immigration Law section will meet with the US Citizenship and Immigration Service on Thursday, June 13, 2013, and Thursday, August 22, 2013, at 12 noon at the Department of Homeland Security, 620 E. 10th Avenue, 3rd Floor Conference Room.  Acting Field Office Director, Terry Charbonneau, will chair the June meeting. Meeting topics will be emailed to section members prior to each meeting. Watch for more information.

For more section information, please contact Chair Kathy Atkinson at kathy.atkinson@alaska.gov or 907-278-1057.


Intellectual Property Law
The Intellectual Property Law will next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, July 23, 2013, at 12 noon.  Watch for more information by email. 

For more information, please contact Chair Jon Dawson at jondawson@dwt.com or 907-257-5300.


International Law
The International Law section will meet on Wednesday, May 8, 2013, at 12 noon at the Federal Public Defender office, 601 W. 5th Avenue, Suite 800. This will be the last meeting until the fall. 

CLE Planning.  The discussion will focus on a possible fall CLE so please come with suggestions. Phone-ins from other Alaska locations are welcomed and encouraged. 

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Rich Curtner at Rich_Curtner@fd.org or 907-646-3412; Andy Haas at yatra@ak.net or 907-235-1007; Julie Webb at julie.webb@alaska.gov or 907-274-3937.


Law and Community Health Forum    
The Law & Community Health Forum meets every other month.  Section meetings will resume again in the fall.

If you have section questions, please contact co-Chairs Liz Leduc at eleduc@borough.kenai.ak.us or 907-714-2125; Mara Rabinowitz at mara.rabinowitz@alaska.gov or 907-3492; Colleen Ray at colleen.ray@alaska.gov 907-334-4452.


Municipal Law
The Municipal Law section will not meet again until the fall. 

If you have section questions, please contact co-Chairs sherwoodtk@ci.anchorage.ak.us or 907-343-4545; and Dennis Wheeler at wheelerda@ci.anchorage.ak.us or 907-343-4545.


New Lawyers
The New Lawyers section meets the third Thursday of odd-numbered months.  Due to the Bar convention the week of May 13 in Juneau, the May meeting is canceled.  Meetings will resume in the fall.

For more section information, please contact co-chairs Elizabeth Apostola at elizabeth.apostola@gmail.com or 907-947-5446; and Loren P. Hildebrandt at lorehild@gmail.com or 907-276-5297.


Public Contracts Law  
The Public Contracts Law section will not meet again until the fall and will be on a different meeting schedule.  Watch for information later in the summer. 

For more section information, please contact Chair S. Lane Tucker at sltucker@stoel.com or 907- 277-1900.


Real Estate Law 
The Business Law, Corporate Counsel Law and Real Estate Law sections will meet jointly on Tuesday, May 21, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar's office, 840 K Street, Suite 100 (parking is metered on the street).  This is the last meeting until the fall for the Corporate Counsel and Real Estate Law sections.

Avoiding Malpractice Re: Alaska’s Unfair Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act and Distributorship Act.  This will be a panel discussion (the panelists names will be forwarded later). It will include a discussion of the application of the Unfair Trade Practices Consumer Protection Act to real estate transactions.  1 Ethics CLE Credit.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more information, please contact Chair Joan Travostino at joan.travostino@klgates.com or 907-276-1969.


Social Security Disability Advocacy    
The Social Security Disability Advocacy section meeting schedule is on a quarterly schedule of December, March, June and September.  The next meeting will be on Friday, June 14, 2013, at the Bar office, 840 K Street, Suite 100.

For more section information, please contact Chair Paula Jacobson at pjacobsonlaw@gmail.com or 907-727-0024.


Tax Law
The next Tax Law section meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 8, 2013, at 12 noon Bar’s office, 840 K Street, Suite 100. This is the last meeting until the fall.

Roundtable Discussion.  This will be a roundtable discussion of current tax activities.  CLE credit will be determined after the meeting.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Chuck Schuetze at chuck@mb.law.pro or 907-334-5600; and Christy Lee at clee@christyleelaw.com or 907-264-6660.


Torts/Personal Injury Law
The Torts/Personal Injury Law section’s next meeting will meet be on Tuesday, May 21, 2013, at 12 noon at the office of Guess & Rudd, 510 L Street, Suite 700.  PLEASE NOTE THIS ONE-TIME LOCATION CHANGE.   This is the last meeting until the fall.

Independent Medical Exams.  Dr. Charles Brooks, with Medical Evaluations of Alaska, will discuss IMEs, the process of IMEs, and his experience conducting them.  Please bring any questions you may have for Dr. Brooks. 1 General CLE Credit.  
Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more information, contact Chair Rebecca Hozubin at Rebecca@akdefenselaw.com or 907-276-5297.


Unbundled Law    
The Unbundled Law section meets three times a year for 1.5 hours (12 noon to 1:30 p.m.).  The next meeting will be in September. 

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Katherine Alteneder at kalteneder@gmail.com or 907-854-2245; and Kara Nyquist at kara@nyquistlaw.com or 907-301-8873.


Workers’ Comp Law
The Workers’ Comp Law section will meet on Friday, May 3, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office, 840 K Street, Suite 100.  This is the last meeting until the fall.

Appeals Commission.  Lawrence Keyes, the Administrative Law Judge for the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Appeals Commission, will address the section.  1 General CLE Credit.  Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged. 

For more information, please contact Chair Joe Kalamarides at joe@kalamarides.com or 907-276-2135.

     Alaska Time Designed and Developed by Tex R Us LLC.