alaskabar.org

Home » Committees/Sections » Sections » Section Newsletters » 2012-12 Section News (December 2012)

December 2012 Section News

Do you need the Certificate of Attendance OR the Section Evaluation Form?  Download the documents from the Sections homepage.

NOTE:  The Alaska Bar’s new office location is 840 K Street, Suite 100 (effective Friday, December 7, 2012).


Administrative Law
The Administrative Law section meets quarterly. The next meeting scheduled for December 3, 2012, was canceled due to presenter's illness. 

 

Administrative Law Resources.  State Law Librarian Susan Falk will discuss Administrative law resources at the State Law Library.  1 General CLE Credit.

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged. 

Juneau Members:  You can attend section meetings at the Department of Law in the Dimond Courthouse (123 Fourth Street), 5th floor conference room.  Because the 5th floor is secure, access the meeting by going first to the department’s reception area on the 6th floor, opposite the main elevators. This location will be connected by conference call. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Stuart W. Goering at stuart.goering@alaska.gov or 907-269-5200; and Becky Kruse at becky.kruse@alaska.gov or 907-269-3036.  


Admiralty Law
The Admiralty Law section meets quarterly.  The next meeting will be Thursday, February 14, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100, small conference room.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Steve Shamburek at shamburek@gci.net or 907-522-5339; and Mark Manning at manning@alaska.net or 907-278-9794.


Alaska Native Law
The Alaska Native Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 12, 2012, at 12 noon at the Bar office’s NEW LOCATION,  840 K Street, Suite 100.  Employment Law and Corporate Counsel Law sections are invited.  

ANCSA Corporations and the Shareholder Hiring Preference.  Tom Daniel with Perkins Coie LLP is the speaker.  1 General CLE Credit. 

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Melanie Osborne at melanie.osborne@nana.com or 907-265-3794; Brennan Cain at bcain@eyakcorp.com or 907-334-6971; Bruce Anders at banders@ciri.com or 907-263-5503 and Walter Featherly at wfeatherly@pattonboggs.com or 907-263- 6395. 


Alternative Dispute Resolution
The ADR section will meet on Thursday, December 13, 2012, at 12 noon at the Bar office’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100, small conference room.

Mediation Roundtable and Inside Tips.  This is a roundtable discussion with member David Walberg moderating.   Members will discuss their techniques and share inside tips.  Mr. Walberg is a mediator for the Alaska Small Claims Court and has a Master’s in counseling psychology.  1 General CLE Credit.

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact Chair Glenn Cravez at cravez.law.mediation@gci.net or 907-276-3370.


Appellate Law
The Appellate Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 5, 2012, at 12 noon at the Department of Law, 5th Floor Conference Room, 1031 W. 4th Avenue.  Those in Juneau can attend at the Department of Law, 4th Floor Conference Room, 120 E. 4th St.

Supreme Court  Justice Walter Carpeneti.  Justice Carpeneti will talk about Alaska Supreme Court cases which were the most interesting or influential during his tenure on the court.  This  meeting will be by videoconference from Juneau to Anchorage; and is also available telephonically for those outside Anchorage.  1 General CLE Credit. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Jeff Feldman at feldman@frozenlaw.com or 907-272-3538; Gregory Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5300 and Lloyd Miller at lloyd@sonosky.com or 907-258-6377.


Bankruptcy Law  
The Bankruptcy Law section will NOT meet in December.  Please plan to attend the annual Bean-a-fit on Friday, December 7, 2012, 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in the Old Federal Building, 605 West 4th Avenue, Room 250, Anchorage.

For more section information, please contact chair Michelle Boutin at mboutin@jdolaw.com or 907-563-8844.


Business Law  
The Business Law section’s next meeting will be on Tuesday, December 18, 2012, at 12 noon at Lane Powell, 301 W. Northern Lights Blvd., Suite 301.

Immigration Update.  Margaret Stock of Lane Powell will present a quick review of immigration basics affecting your clients, plus the latest ‘hot’ immigration law issues affecting Alaska businesses, from new restrictions on the employment of foreign nationals to worksite enforcement of immigration laws and a recent initiative by the Obama Administration to grant work authorizations to hundreds of young people living in Alaska.  1 General CLE Credit. 

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Matthew Block, blockm@lanepowell.com or 907-264-3309; and John Kauffman, jdkauffman@stoel.com or 907-277-1900.


Corporate Counsel
The Corporate Counsel Law will NOT meet in December.  The next meeting will be on Wednesday, January 16, 2013.

For more section information, please contact Chair Marcia Davis at mrdavis@gci.net or 907-223-3221. 


Elder Law
The Elder Law section will meet on a different day this month - Tuesday, December 11, 2012, at 12 noon at the Bar office’s NEW LOCATION,  840 K Street, Suite 100.  

Medicaid Roundtable.  As a follow-up to November’s meeting, this will be a brainstorming session about members’ Medicaid concerns.  

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.   

For more section information contact co-Chairs Ilona Bessenyey at ilona@bvt-law.com or 907-278-2000; and Una Gandbhir at philuna@alaska.net or 907-258-7333. 


Employment Law
The Employment Law section will NOT meet in December.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Wednesday, January 2, 2013. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Gregory Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5335; and Danielle Ryman at dryman@perkinscoie.com or 907-263-6927.


Environmental/Natural Resources Law  
The Environmental Law section’s next meeting will be on Wednesday, January 23, 2013, at noon the Bar’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs:  Jamie Linxwiler at jlinxwiler@guessrudd.com or 907-793-2200; Steve Ross at steven.ross@alaska.gov or 907-269-5274; and Tina Sellers at tina@reevesamodio.com or 907-222-7100. 


Estate Planning & Probate Law 
The Estate Planning & Probate Law section will NOT meet in December. The next meeting will be on Tuesday, January 8, 2013, at the Bar’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Maribeth Conway at maribeth@theconwayfirm.com or 907-278-5291 and Tonja Woelber at twoelber@alaska.net or 907-272-0024.  


Family Law
The next Family Law section meeting is December 4, 2012, at 12 noon in the Atwood Building, Room 1860, 550 W. 7th Avenue. 

Family Law Ethics with Bar Counsel.  Alaska Bar Counsel Steve Van Goor will lead the discussion.  Mr. Van Goor will address questions and hypotheticals previously submitted by members and also cover new questions at the meeting. 1 Ethics CLE Credit.

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, contact co-Chairs Whitney Bostick at 907-929-0888 or whitney@alaskaresolutions.com; Kara Nyquist at 907-301-8873 or karajd2000@aol.com; and Alicia Porter at 907-569-0050 or adporter@alaska.net.


Health Law
The Health Law section will meet one week later this month on Thursday, December 13, 2012, at 12 noon at the Bar office’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100.

RAC Audits & Other Medicaid Audits.  Doug Jones, Internal Auditor, Quality Assurance for the Department of Health and Social Services, will discuss Medicaid audits. 1 General CLE Credit. 

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Carolyn Heyman-Layne at heyman-layne@alaskalaw.pro or 907-677-3600; and Barbara Nault at bnault@gsblaw.com or 907-258-2400.


Immigration Law
The Immigration Law section meets based upon the USCIS Director’s schedule. Members will be sent an email and the meeting will be posted to the Alaska Bar’s website calendar when known.  

For more section information, please contact Chair Kathy Atkinson at kathy.atkinson@alaska.gov or 907-278-1057.


Intellectual Property Law
The Intellectual Property Law section’s next meeting will be on Tuesday, January 22, 2013, at 12 noon at Davis Wright Tremaine, 701 W. 8th Avenue, Suite 800 (Conoco Phillips building).

For more information, please contact Chair Jon Dawson at jondawson@dwt.com or 907-257-5300.


International Law
The International Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 12, 2012, at 12 noon at the Federal Public Defender office, 601 W. 5th Avenue, Suite 800.

Planning for 2013.  Bring your ideas, offer to be a speaker or suggest a speaker.

Phone-ins from other Alaska locations are welcomed and encouraged. 

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Rich Curtner at Rich_Curtner@fd.org or 907-646-3412; Andy Haas at yatra@ak.net or 907-235-1007; Julie Webb at julie.webb@alaska.gov or 907-274-3937.


Law and Community Health Forum    
The Law & Community Health Forum meets every other month.  The next meeting is Tuesday, January 8, 2013, at 12 noon at OPA, 900 W. 5th Avenue, 3rd Floor.

If you have section questions, please contact co-Chairs Liz Leduc at elizabeth.leduc@alaska.gov or 907-283-3129; Mara Rabinowitz at mara.rabinowitz@alaska.gov or 907-269-3514; and Colleen Ray at cray@courts.state.ak.us or 907-264-0523.


Municipal Law
The next regularly-scheduled meeting of the Municipal Law section is Wednesday, February 27, 2013, at noon at the Bar’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100. 

If you have section questions, please contact co-Chairs John Hartle at hartle@cbjlaw.com or 907-586-5340; Todd Sherwood at sherwoodTK@ci.anchorage.ak.us or 907-343-4545; and Dennis Wheeler at wheelerda@ci.anchorage.ak.us or 907-343-4545.


New Lawyers
The New Lawyers section changed its regular meeting date to the third Thursday of odd-numbered months.  The next meeting will be on Thursday, January 17, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100, small conference room.   

For more section information, please contact co-chairs Elizabeth Apostola at eapostola@farleygraves.com or 907-274-5100; and Loren P. Hildebrandt at lorehild@gmail.com or 907-276-5297.


Public Contracts Law
The Public Contracts Law section will meet on Thursday, December 6, 2012, at noon at Stoel Rives, 510 L Street, Suite 500.

Construction Clients.  Jake Jacobson of Osborne Construction will present on “Finding, Feeding and Keeping Construction Clients.” Pizza will be provided.  1 General CLE Credit.  

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged. 

For more section information, please contact Chair S. Lane Tucker at sltucker@stoel.com or 907- 263-8402.


Real Estate Law  
The Real Estate Law section on Monday, December 3, 2012, at 12 noon in the Atwood Building, Room 1860, 550 W. 7th Avenue.

Electronic Recordings and the Recorder’s Office.  Vicky Backus and Paula Kelsey of the Statewide Recorder’s Office will explain electronic recording, tips on why documents are rejected, and answer questions.  Chair Joan Travostino is asking for questions for the speakers prior to the meeting so they can prepare.  Please email questions to joan.travostino@klgates.com1 General CLE Credit. 

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged. 

For more information, please contact Chair Joan Travostino at joan.travostino@klgates.com or 907-276-1969.


Social Security Disability Advocacy    
The Social Security Disability Advocacy section meeting schedule is being changed to a quarterly schedule of December, March, June and September.  The next meeting will be on Friday, December 14, 2012, at 12 noon at the Bar office’s NEW LOCATION,
840 K Street, Suite 100.

Acceptable Medical Source.  The discussion will focus on what is an "Acceptable medical source" for purposes of defining "impairment" and "residual functional capacity."   Also, Vivien Munson will report on the factors that led her to write her excellent article in the recent Bar Rag.  CLE Credits will be determined after the meeting.

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more section information, please contact Chair Paula Jacobson at paulajacobson190@yahoo.com or 907- 727-0024.


Tax Law
The Tax Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 12, 2012, at 12 noon in at the Bar’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100, small conference room.

Ethics from the 2012 NYU Tax Institute.  Chair Chuck Schuetze will discuss proposed revisions to the Circular 230 ethical rules governing tax practitioners, and related issues covered at the October 2012 New York University Tax Institute. 
1 Ethics CLE Credit.

Phone-ins from other locations in Alaska are welcomed and encouraged.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Chuck Schuetze at chuck@mb.law.pro or 907-334-5600; and Christy Lee at clee@christyleelaw.com or 907-264-6660.


Torts/Personal Injury Law
The Torts/Personal Injury Law section’s next meeting will be on Tuesday, January 15, 2013, at the Bar’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100.

For more information, contact Chair Rebecca Hozubin at Rebecca@akdefenselaw.com or 907-276-5297.


Unbundled Law    
The Unbundled Law section meets three times a year for 1.5 hours (12 noon to 1:30 p.m.).  The next meeting will be on Friday, May 10, 2013. 

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Katherine Alteneder at kalteneder@gmail.com or 907-854-2245; and Kara Nyquist at kara@nyquistlaw.com or 907-301-8873.


Workers’ Comp Law
The Workers’ Comp Law section will NOT meet in December.  The next meeting will be on Friday, January 4, 2013, at 12 noon at the Bar office’s NEW LOCATION, 840 K Street, Suite 100.

Plan to attend the section-sponsored CLE “End of the Workers’ Comp World as We Knew it or Things as Usual?” on Friday, December 7, 2012, 8:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m., Hotel Captain Cook. 4 General CLE Credits.  See topics and registration.

For more information, please contact Chair Joe Kalamarides at joe@kalamarides.com or 907-276-2135.

     Alaska Time Designed and Developed by Tex R Us LLC.