alaskabar.org

Home » Committees/Sections » Sections » Section Newsletters » 2011-12 Section News (December 2011)

December 2011 Section News

 

Do you need the Certificate of Attendance OR the Section Evaluation Form?  Download these documents from the Sections homepage.


Administrative Law
The Administrative Law section meets quarterly. The section’s next meeting will be Monday, December 5, 2011, at 12 noon at the Bar Office.

Legislative Update.  Senator Hollis French will speak about issues coming up in the next legislative session that are related to administrative law and procedures.  1 General CLE Credit.

Juneau Members:  You can attend section meetings at the Department of Law in the Dimond Courthouse (123 Fourth Street), 5th floor conference room.  Because the 5th floor is secure, access the meeting by going first to the department’s reception area on the 6th floor, opposite the main elevators. This location will be connected by conference call. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Stuart W. Goering at stuart.goering@alaska.gov or 907-269-5200; and Becky Kruse at becky.kruse@alaska.gov or 907-269-3036.  


Admiralty Law
The Admiralty Law section meets quarterly.  The next meeting will be Thursday, February 9, 2012, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Steve Shamburek at shamburek@gci.net or 907-522-5339; and Mark Manning at manning@alaska.net or 907-278-9794.


Alaska Native Law
The Alaska Native Law section will meet jointly with the Public Contracts Law section on Wednesday, December 14, 2011, at 12 noon in Room 240 of the Atwood Building (first set of elevators). The Corporate Counsel Law section is also invited to attend. 

GAO’s Re-launched Review of ANCs.  At the request of Rep. Markey (D-MA), ranking member of the House Natural Resources Committee, the GAO is conducting yet another inquiry into ANCs.  This time, the GAO will review broadly the federal and state laws and regulations that apply to regional ANCs for disclosure and financial reporting, compliance with these reporting requirements, and what concerns, if any, shareholders have about ANC corporate governance.  Tim Schuerch, In-House Counsel for Ukpeagvik Inupiat Corporation, and Barbara Donatelli, Vice President of Cook Inlet Region, Inc., recently attended a listening session conducted by the GAO with respect to this review, and they will report on the status of the GAO’s reviews, the processes the GAO intends to follow, and the expected time line for issuance of the GAO’s reports.  In addition, Lane Tucker of Stoel Rives, will speak about what an ANC should do when the GAO knocks on its door. 1 General CLE Credit.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Melanie Osborne at mbosborne@stoel.com or 907-268-8412; Brennan Cain at bcain@eyakcorp.com or 907-334-6971; Bruce Anders at banders@ciri.com or 907-263-5503 and Walter Featherly at wfeatherly@pattonboggs.com or 907-263- 6395. 


Alternative Dispute Resolution
The ADR section will meet on Thursday, December 8, 2011, at 12 noon in the Bar office.  (Meeting canceled.)

“My Best Practice Tip.” The chairs challenge all members to bring one tip to share with other section members. 1 General CLE Credit.  ADR books now available for self-checkout at the Bar office.   

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Glenn Cravez at cravez.law.mediation@gci.net or 907-276-3370; and Linda O’Bannon at lindalaw@acsalaska.net or 907-243-5842.


Appellate Law
The Appellate Law section’s next meeting will be on Thursday, January 19, 2011, at 12 noon at the Department of Law, 5th Floor Conference Room, 1031 W. 4th Avenue.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Alex Bryner at Bryner@frozenlaw.com or 907-272-3538; Gregory Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5300; Lloyd Miller at lloyd@sonosky.com or 907-258-6377; and Beth Trimmer at beth.trimmer@alaska.gov or 907-269-6075.


Bankruptcy Law  
The Bankruptcy Law section will NOT meet in December. Instead, plan on attending two section-sponsored events.

  1. The section’s annual Bean-a-Fit is Friday, December 9 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Bankruptcy Courthouse.  View the flyer for the Bean-a Fit
  2. The CLE “Bankruptcy for Non-Bankruptcy Attorneys” on December 15, 2011, 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m., Anchorage, Hotel Captain Cook.  View more information on the CLE.  

For more section information, please contact Chair Gary Spraker at gary@cslawyers.net or 907-258-6016.


Business Law  
The Business Law section meets quarterly. The next meeting will be in 2012.  Watch for more information in this newsletter or E-News. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Matthew Block, blockm@lanepowell.com or 907-264-3309; and John Kauffman, jdkauffman@stoel.com or 907-277-1900.


Corporate Counsel
The Corporate Counsel Law section will NOT meet in December.  Meetings will resume on Wednesday, January 18, 2012. 

For more section information, please contact Chair Marcia Davis at mdavis@calistacorp.com or 907-644-6316. 


Elder Law
The Elder Law section will meet on Thursday, December 15, 2011, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

Meeting canceled.

For more section information contact co-Chairs Ilona Bessenyey at ilona@bvt-law.com or 907-278-2000; and Una Gandbhir at philuna@alaska.net or 907-258-7333. 


Employment Law
The Employment Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 7, 2011, at 12 noon at the Bar Office. Alaska Native Law and Corporate Counsel Law sections are invited to attend. 

Applicability of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) to Tribal Governments.  Robert Rohr, JD, MA, SPHR, will provide an overview of the applicability of the FLSA to tribal governments and examine consent/waivers and federal case law.  The goal is to provide some guideposts and standards when examining whether a tribal government’s particular activity falls inside or outside the scope of the FSLA.  1 General CLE Credit.

Fairbanks Members:  You can attend Employment Law meetings at Cook Schuhmann & Groseclose, Inc., 714 4th Avenue, Suite 200.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Gregory Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5335; and Danielle Ryman at dryman@perkinscoie.com or 907-263-6927.


Environmental/Natural Resources Law  
The Environmental Law section’s next regularly scheduled meeting will be on Wednesday, January 25, 2011. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs; Larry Hartig at larry.hartig@alaska.gov or 907-276-1592; Russ Winner rwinner@winnerlaw.com or 907-277-9522; and Tina Sellers at tina@reevesamodio.com or 907-222-7100.


Estate Planning & Probate Law
The Estate Planning/Probate Law section will meet on Tuesday, December 13, 2011, at 12 noon at the Bar Office.

Wills and Trusts in the Fine Arts.  This will be a discussion on wills, probate and trust administration in fine arts.  Included will be an opera singer, a Jane Austen enthusiast, and video excerpts from a movie and TV show to highlight this topic. 1 General CLE Credit. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Maribeth Conway at maribeth@theconwayfirm.com or 907-278-5291; or Steve Greer at steve@stephengreerlaw.com or 907-561-5520; or Tonja Woelber at twoelber@alaska.net or 907-272-0024.  


Family Law
The Family Law section will meet on Tuesday, December 6, 2011, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

Hot Tips.  There is a slight change in the topic this month.  December will be the annual practitioner "hot tips" meeting - points and strategies for a more effective practice.  Everyone is encouraged to bring a "hot tip" to share - some tip that makes your practice easier or would be of value for others to know.  Please email co-chair Alicia Porter at adporter@alaska.net in advance of the meeting so that a list can be compiled and distributed at the meeting.  1 General CLE Credit. 

For more section information, contact co-Chairs Whitney Bostick at 907-929-0888 or whitney@alaskaresolutions.com; Kara Nyquist at 907-301-8873 or karajd2000@aol.com; and Alicia Porter at 907-569-0050 or adporter@alaska.net


Health Law
The Health Law section will NOT meet in December.  The next regularly scheduled meeting will be on Thursday, January 5, 2012.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Carolyn Heyman-Layne at heyman-layne@alaskalaw.pro or 907-677-3600; and Barbara Nault at bnault@bankston.to or 907-276-1711.


Immigration Law
The Immigration Law section will meet on Thursday, December 1, 2011, at 12 noon at the Anchorage Department of Homeland Security office - 620 E. 10th Avenue.

Immigration Services Topics.  This meeting will be with Bernadette Doody, Field Office Director, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.  Discussion topics include the application of good moral character requirements for naturalization; whether the recent memo relating to USCIS’ issuance of Notices to Appear affect how naturalization cases will be adjudicated; whether the Morton memo on prosecutorial discretion been implemented by Anchorage USCIS and what factors are most important; changes to the circuit ride schedule; approval and denial rates for various application types at the local field office in comparison with national averages; and how N-600s are going to dealt with now that they have been centralized. 1 General CLE Credit.

For more section information, please contact Chair Kathy Atkinson at kathy.atkinson@alaska.gov or 907-278-1057.


Intellectual Property Law
The Intellectual Property Law section meets quarterly.  The next meeting will be on Tuesday, January 24, 2012 at 12 noon at Davis Wright Tremaine, 701 W. 8th Avenue, Suite 800 (Conoco Phillips building).

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Jon Dawson at jondawson@dwt.com or 907-257-5300; and Elizabeth Hodes at elizabethhodes@dwt.com or 907-257-5337.


International Law
The International Law section will NOT meet in December.  Two important announcements:

  1. Remember to RSVP to Rich_Curtner@fd.org for the section pre-Solstice Party at Rich Curtner’s house on December 18, 2011 at 6pm. 
  2. The section is seeking nominations for their first annual International Human Rights Award.  It would recognize an Alaskan attorney who, within the last five years, has internationally promoted human rights.  The work or volunteer activities can be at home or abroad, as long as it furthers rights beyond our borders.  Please submit nominations by February 1, 2012, to the section at either yatra@ak.net or to Andy Haas, 350 Bonanza Avenue, Homer, AK  99603.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Andy Haas at yatra@ak.net or 907-235-1007; Nevhiz E. Calik Russell at nevhiz.calik@alaska.gov or 907-269-1994; and Julie Webb at julie.webb@alaska.gov or 907-274-3937.


Law and Community Health Forum    
The Law & Community Health Forum meets every other month.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, January 10, 2012.

If you have section questions, please contact co-Chairs Liz Leduc at elizabeth.leduc@alaska.gov or 907-283-3129; Mara Rabinowitz at mara.rabinowitz@alaka.gov or 907-269-3514; and Colleen Ray at cray@courts.state.ak.us or 907-264-0523.


Municipal Law
The Municipal Law section will NOT meet in December due to the holidays.  The next meeting will be on February 29, 2012, (one week later than usual) with Holly Wells and Joe Levesque discussing “Dealing with Derelict Vessels and the Legal Hurdles They Pose.” 

If you have section questions, please contact co-Chairs Rene Broker at renebroker@co.fairbanks.ak.us or 907-459-1318; John Hartle at hartle@cbjlaw.com or 907-586-5340; and Todd Sherwood at sherwoodtk@ci.anchorage.ak.us or 907-343-4545.


New Lawyers
The New Lawyers section meets every other month.  The next regularly scheduled meeting will be in January, date to be determined as the regular day falls on Martin Luther King Day.

For more section information, please contact co-chairs Elizabeth Apostola at eapostola@farleygraves.com or 907-274-5100; and Loren P. Hildebrandt at lorehild@gmail.com or 907-279-8522.


Public Contracts Law
The Public Contracts Law section will meet jointly with the Alaska Native Law section on Wednesday, December 14, 2011, at 12 noon in Room 240 of the Atwood Building (first set of elevators). The Corporate Counsel Law section is also invited to attend.

GAO’s Re-launched Review of ANCs.  At the request of Rep. Markey (D-MA), ranking member of the House Natural Resources Committee, the GAO is conducting yet another inquiry into ANCs.  This time, the GAO will review broadly the federal and state laws and regulations that apply to regional ANCs for disclosure and financial reporting, compliance with these reporting requirements, and what concerns, if any, shareholders have about ANC corporate governance.  Tim Schuerch, In-House Counsel for Ukpeagvik Inupiat Corporation, and Barbara Donatelli, Vice President of Cook Inlet Region, Inc., recently attended a listening session conducted by the GAO with respect to this review, and they will report on the status of the GAO’s reviews, the processes the GAO intends to follow, and the expected time line for issuance of the GAO’s reports.  In addition, Lane Tucker of Stoel Rives, will speak about what an ANC should do when the GAO knocks on its door. 1 General CLE Credit. 

For more section information, please contact Chair S. Lane Tucker at sltucker@stoel.com  or 907- 263-8402.


Real Estate Law  
The Real Estate Law section will hold its November/December meeting on Thursday, December 1, 2011, at 12 noon in the Bar office.

Conservation Easements.  Konrad Liegel, Seattle attorney and who has worked on conservation easements with Tyonek Corporation, will explain the procedure and purpose of conservation easements. 1 General CLE Credit.

For more information, please contact Chair Joan Travostino at joan.travostino@klgates.com or 907-276-1969.


Social Security Disability Advocacy    
The Social Security Disability Advocacy section will meet on Monday, December 12, 2011, at 12 noon in the Bar office. 

Drug Abuse & Alcoholism and Social Security Disability.  Co-Chair Paul Eaglin will lead the discussion on drug abuse and alcoholism, often abbreviated as DA&A or DAA.  It is the claimant’s burden to show that DAA is NOT material where there is a finding of “disabled” in the five-step sequential evaluation of disability. View the materials for the meeting1 General CLE Credit.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Paul Eaglin at eaglin@alaska.com or 907-374-4744; and Paula Jacobson at paulajacobson190@yahoo.com or 907- 727-0024.


Tax Law
The Tax Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 14, 2011, at 12 noon in the Bar office of the Atwood Building, 550 W. 7th Avenue. (Note this one-time location change.)

October NYU Tax Institute Conference and Ethics.  Co-chair Chuck Schuetze will talk about ethics matters for tax professionals discussed at the October NYU Tax Institute conference. 1 Ethics CLE Credit. 

On the same day, December 14, the AKCPA has extended an invitation to Tax Law section members only to attend a viewing in their offices of Bob Keebler’s webinar on Form 706 estate tax return preparation for individuals who passed away in 2011.  View the flyer for the webinar

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Chuck Schuetze at chuck@mb.law.pro or 907-334-5600; or Christy Lee at clee@christyleelaw.com or 907-264-6660.


Torts/Personal Injury Law
The Torts/Personal Injury Law section meets every odd-numbered month.  The next meeting of the section will be on Tuesday, January 17, 2011, at 12 noon in the Bar office.

For more information, contact Chair Rebecca Hozubin at rebecca@wilkersonlaw.net or 907-276-5297.


Unbundled Law    
The Unbundled Law section meets three times a year for 1.5 hours (12 noon to 1:30 p.m.). The next meeting will be held on Friday, December 2, 2011, in the Bar office.  It will be a replay of the first half of the 2007 CLE “Unbundled Legal Services: Creating a Profit Center Using Limited Scope Representation in Your Civil Practice.”  The entire program has CLE credits  2.75 General / 1.0 Ethics.

For other questions, please contact co-Chairs Katherine Alteneder at kalteneder@gmail.com or 907-854-2245; and Kara Nyquist at karajd2000@aol.com or 907-301-8873.


Workers’ Comp Law
The Workers’ Comp Law section’s next meeting will NOT meet in December.  Instead, plan to attend the section-sponsored CLE “Comp:  Workers’ Comp” on December 9, 2011, 8:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. at the Hotel Captain Cook.  Register Today!

For more information, please contact Chair Joe Kalamarides at joe@kalamarides.com or 907-276-2135.

     Alaska Time Designed and Developed by Tex R Us LLC.