alaskabar.org

Home » Committees/Sections » Sections » Section Newsletters » 2010-09 Section News (December 2010)

December 2010 SECTION NEWS 

 

 

Both the certificate of attendance form AND the meeting evaluation form are available on the Bar’s website as follows: https://www.alaskabar.org/servlet/content/sections.html

 

Administrative Law

The Administrative Law section meets quarterly. The meeting normally scheduled for the first Monday in December, has been cancelled for the Governor’s Inauguration.

Juneau Members: You can attend section meetings at the Department of Law in the Dimond Courthouse (123 Fourth Street), 5th floor conference room. Because the 5th floor is secure, access the meeting by going first to the department’s reception area on the 6th floor, opposite the main elevators. This location will be connected by conference call. 

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Kimberly Allen at Kimberly.Allen@alaska.gov or 907-269-5144; or Steven C. Weaver at Steve.Weaver@alaska.gov or 907-465-3600.  

 

Admiralty Law

The Admiralty Law section meets quarterly. The next meeting will be Thursday, February 10, 2011, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Steve Shamburek at shamburek@gci.net or 907-522-5339; or Mark Manning at manning@alaska.net or 907-278-9794.

 

Alaska Native Law

The Alaska Native Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 8, 2010, at 12 noon at the Alaska Bar office. 

Growing the Family:  New Shareholder Stock and Village Corporations.   The guest speaker will be Maver Carey, President & CEO, The Kuskokwim Corporation. 1 General CLE Credit.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Melanie Osborne at mosborne@ahtna.net or 907-868-8230; Brennan Cain at bcain@eyakcorp.com or 907-334-6971; or Sam Fortier at sfortier@fortmikk.alaska.com or 907-277-4222.

 

Alternative Dispute Resolution

The ADR section will meet on Thursday, December 9, 2010, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

Lawyers Assistance Committee. John Reese will speak about the Lawyers Assistance Committee and the effect of substance abuse on participants in ADR. 1 General Ethics Credit. 

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Glenn Cravez at cravez.law.mediation@gci.net or 907-276-3370; or Linda O’Bannon at lindalaw@acsalaska.net or 907-243-5842.

 

Appellate Law

The Appellate Law section meets every odd-numbered month. The next meeting will be held on Thursday, January 20, 2011, at the Department of Law, 5th Floor Conference Room, 1031 W. 4th Avenue. 

For more information, please contact co-chairs Alex Bryner at Bryner@frozenlaw.com or 907-272-3538; Greg Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5300; Lloyd Miller at lloyd@sonosky.com or 907-258-6377; or Beth Trimmer at beth.trimmer@alaska.gov or 907-269-6075.

 

Bankruptcy Law  

The Bankruptcy Law section will hold its Annual Bean-a-Fit on Wednesday, December 15, 2010.

Annual Bean-A-Fit.  The annual Bean-A-Fit will be held from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Bankruptcy Court, 605 W. 4th Avenue. Please note that the G Street side of the Old Federal Building is closed from noon to 1 p.m.  If you come after 12 noon, please enter on the F Street side.  
For more section information, please contact Chair Gary Spraker at gary@cslawyers.net or 907-258-6016.

 

Business Law

The Business Law section meets quarterly. The next meeting will be Tuesday, January 18, 2011, at 12 noon at Lane Powell. Julius Brecht will discuss Securities Registration and Exemption from Alaska’s Perspective. 

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs Matthew Block, blockm@lanepowell.com or 907-276-2631; and John Kauffman, jdkauffman@stoel.com or 907-277-1900.

 

Corporate Counsel

The Corporate Counsel Law section meeting scheduled for December 15, 2010, has been canceled.
For more information, please contact Chair Marcia Davis marcia.davis@alaska.gov or 907-269-7868.

 

Elder Law

The Elder Law section will meet on Thursday, December 16, 2010, 12 noon in at the Bar office.

Medicaid Application Process. Jeff Crowe, who is the supervisor of the Medicaid Long-Term Care Home and Community Based Waiver Unit, will answer questions regarding the Medicaid application process such as: 

  • what clients should expect to provide by way of documentation
  • what will be asked in interviews, the timing of applications
  • what a care coordinator's role in the process is, etc. 
     
     

He is a great resource for those odd or obscure situations that tend to come up with clients.  Jeff has requested that co-chair Una Gandbhir send him a list of questions by email which he will answer in writing.  Those questions will then be discussed at the meeting at which Jeff will be a guest.  Please send your questions to Una at philuna@alaska.net. 1 General CLE Credit. For more information contact co-Chairs Ilona Bessenyey at ilona@bvt-law.com or 907-278-2000; Una Gandbhir at philuna@alaska.net or 907-258-7333. 

 

Employment Law

The Employment Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 1, 2010, at 12 noon in the Bar office.

The Social Media Revolution & the Workplace. Once thought to be a passing fad, social media has transformed how people communicate. Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, MySpace are social networking sites that require little introduction. The impact of social media now extends beyond personal lives. Employees are using social media in increasing numbers to talk about their workplace, employers, co-workers, and a myriad of other work-relevant topics. Tom Daniel and section co-chair Daniel Ryman, both of Perkins Coie, LLP, will present. 1 General CLE Credit. 

Fairbanks Members: You can attend Employment Law meetings at Cook Schuhmann & Groseclose, Inc., 714 4th Avenue, Suite 200.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Gregory Fisher at gregoryfisher@dwt.com or 907-257-5335; Danielle Ryman at dryman@perkinscoie.com or 907-263-6927.

 

Environmental/Natural Resources Law  

Due to the Thanksgiving holiday in November, the Environmental Law’s section has been scheduled to Wednesday December 1, 2010, 12 noon, Room 602 of the Atwood Building (first set of elevators; same building as Bar office).  

Administrative Appeals of Environmental and other State Agency Decisions. Chris Kennedy, Deputy Chief Administrative Law Judge, will be the guest speaker. 1 General CLE Credit. 

For more information, please contact co-Chairs; Larry Hartig at larry.hartig@alaska.gov or 907-276-1592; or Russ Winner rwinner@winnerlaw.com or 907-277-9522.

 

Estate Planning & Probate Law

The Estate Planning/Probate Law section will meet on Tuesday, December 14, 2010, at 12 noon in the Bar office.

Post-Mortem Estate Planning Techniques.  Steven T. O’Hara of Bankston Gronning O’Hara, P.C. will present an overview of post-mortem estate planning techniques. 1 General CLE Credit.

For more section information, please contact co-Chairs BethAnn Chapman at bchapman@faulknerbanfield.com or 907-586-2210; Maribeth Conway at maribeth@theconwayfirm.com or 907-278-5291; or Steve Greer at greer@ak.net or 907-561-5520. 

 

Family Law

The Family Law section will meet on Tuesday, December 7, 2010, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

Valuing Household Goods and Valuables in Divorce. The guest speaker is Melissa Fouse, personal property appraiser and owner of Aber Arts & Appraisals. Included in her discussion will be how she approaches valuing household goods and valuables, the procedures she follows, and other nuts/bolts information. As part of her presentation, Ms. Fouse will provide a sample appraisal and example of a letter pertaining to scope of work. She will also discuss the methodology of properly conducted appraisal and written reports; and give an overview of IRS requirements for estate and donation appraisals, as well as the standards for an appraisal for equitable distribution purposes. 1 General CLE Credit.   

For more information, contact co-Chairs S.J. Lee at sjl@mendelandassociates.com or 907-279-5001; or Dorothea Aguero at aguerolaw@gci.net or 907-272-2203.

 

Health Law

The Health Law section will NOT meet in December. Instead, plan to attend the section’s CLE “Healthcare Reform: How it Affects Alaska,” Friday, December 3, 2010, 1:30-5:15 p.m., Dena’ina Convention Center, 3.5 General CLE Credits.

The next meeting will be Thursday, January 6, 2011, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

For more information, please contact co-chairs Carolyn Heyman-Layne at heyman-layne@alaskalaw.pro or 907-677-3600; or Barbara Nault at bnault@bankston.to or 907-276-1711.

 

Immigration Law

The Immigration Law section meets based on DHS schedules. Members will be advised by email of the next meeting. 

For more section information, please contact Chair Kathy Atkinson at kathy.atkinson@alaska.gov or 907-278-1057.

 

Intellectual Property Law

The section meets quarterly. The next meeting is Tuesday, January 25, 2011, at noon at Davis Wright Tremaine, 701 W. 8th Avenue, Suite 800 (ConocoPhillips building).

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Jon Dawson at jondawson@dwt.com or 907-257-5300; or Elizabeth Hodes at elizabethhodes@dwt.com or 907-257-5337.

 

International Law

The International Law section will NOT meet in December. Instead, plan to attend the section’s CLE “Guantanamo & The Response: A Film Screening & Panel Discussion,” Tuesday, December 14, 2010, 8:15 a.m. – 12:30 p.m., Hotel Captain Cook, 3 General + 1 Ethics CLE Credits.

The next meeting will be Wednesday, January 12, 2011, at 12 noon at the Federal Defender Agency.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Andy Haas at yatra@ak.net or 907-235-1007; Nevhiz E. Calik Russell at nevhiz.calik@alaska.gov or 907-269-1994; or Julie Webb at julie.webb@alaska.gov or 907-274-3937.

 

Law and Community Health Forum

Section members will be notified by email of the next Law & Community Health Forum meeting and topic.  It is tentatively scheduled for January. Thank you for participating in our survey. 

If you have any suggestions for the chairs, please see their contact information below.  

If you have section questions, please contact co-Chairs Liz Leduc at elizabeth.leduc@alaska.gov or 907-283-3129; Courtney Lewis at courtney.lewis@alaska.gov or 907-334-4462.

 

Municipal Law  

An email will be sent to the members when the next meeting is scheduled. 

If you have section questions, please contact John Hartle at hartle@cbjlaw.com or 907-586-5340.

 

New Lawyers

The New Lawyers section meets every odd-numbered month. Due to the Martin Luther King Holiday, the next meeting will be held one day later on Tuesday, January 18, 2011, at 12 noon in Room 1270 of the Atwood Building (same building as the Bar office.)

For more section information, please contact Chair Elizabeth Apostola at eapostola@farleygraves.com or 907-274-5100.

 

Public Contracts Law

The Public Contracts section will meet on Tuesday, December 7, 2010, at 12 noon at Stoel Rives, 510 L Street, Suite 500.  

Stealth Fighter A-12 Litigation.  The guest speaker will be Liz Fleming ofBarokas Martin & Tomlinson. A-12 was intended to be a carrier-based stealth fighter, and ended up as one of the largest-ever dollar-value terminations for default. The case has been in litigation since the government demanded $1.3 billion in unliquidated progress payments from General Dynamics and McDonnell Douglas in February 1991. The Supreme Court recently granted certiorari on the issue of the state secrets privilege. Ms. Fleming will summarize the major issues previously litigated and lead a discussion on the state secrets privilege issue that is now before our nation’s highest court.  1 General CLE Credit. Pizza will be served.

For more section information, please contact Chair S. Lane Tucker at sltucker@stoel.com  or 907- 263-8402.

 

Real Estate Law

Due to the November and December holidays, the Real Estate Law section meeting has been changed to Thursday, December 2, 2010, at 12 noon at the Bar office

TBA. As soon as a topic and speaker are identified an email will be sent to section members.

For more information, please contact Chair Joan Travostino at joan.travostino@klgates.com or 907-276-1969.

 

Social Security Disability Advocacy

The Social Security Disability Advocacy section will meeting on Monday, December 13, 2010, at 12 noon at the Bar office.

Organizational Meeting.  During this meeting members will elect the Executive Committee [who in turn, select the chair(s)], suggest topics for future meetings and CLEs, establish a meeting frequency and day, and any other business that needs to be conducted.

For more information, please contact Paul Eaglin at eaglin@alaska.com

Or 907-374-4744.

 

Tax Law

The Tax Law section will meet on Wednesday, December 8, 2010, at 12 noon at Hartig Rhodes Hoge & Lekisch, 717 K Street. 

NYU Tax Institute. Co-Chair Chuck Schuetze will continue the discussion of tax developments covered at the October 2010 NYU Tax Institute, concentrating on business and estate planning developments, including ethical standards governing tax professionals.  1 General CLE Credit.

For more information, please contact co-Chairs Chuck Schuetze at chuck@mb.law.pro or 907-334-5600; or Christy Lee at clee@christyleelaw.com or 907-264-6660. 

 

Torts/Personal Injury Law

The next meeting of the Torts/Personal Injury Law section will be on Tuesday, January 18, 2011, at 12 noon in the Bar office.

For more information, contact Chair Rebecca Hozubin at rebecca@wilkersonlaw.net or 907-276-5297.

 

Workers’ Comp Law

The Workers’ Comp section will NOT meet in December. Instead, plan to attend the section’s CLE “Mama Don’t Let Your Babies Grow up to be Comp Lawyers,” Friday, December 3, 2010, 8:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m., Dena’ina Convention Center. 4.0 General CLE Credits. The next meeting will be on Friday, January 7, 2010, at 12 noon, at the Bar office. 

For more information, please contact Chair Joe Kalamarides at joe@kalamarides.com or 907-276-2135.

     Alaska Time Designed and Developed by Tex R Us LLC.