Home » For Lawyers » Board of Governors » Meetings/Agendas/Action » 2006-2007 Board Meetings » 2006 Business mtg minutes

Annual Business Meeting Minutes
Friday, April 28, 2006
Hotel Captain Cook, Anchorage

  1. Call to Order by President Jon Katcher

  2. President Katcher introduced the Board members and members-elect who were present, as well as the Parliamentarian, Donna Willard.

  3. Approve Minutes of May 13, 2005 Annual Business Meeting

  4. A motion was made by Maryann Foley, seconded and unanimously adopted, to approve the minutes of the May 13, 2005 annual business meeting.

  5. President's Remarks

  6. None. (Applause.)

  7. Resolutions

    1. Seeking Repeal of Civil Case Reporting Requirements

    2. It was moved and seconded to adopt the resolution. Krista Stearns spoke to this resolution. Nothing is being done with the information and attorneys have to charge clients for the time. The Board voted unanimously in favor of supporting the resolution.

      Steve Conn proposed an amendment to include language stating that should the legislature deem it necessary to fund the Judicial Council for this, the money should be diverted to finish the findings of the Fairness & Access Committee. The motion died for lack of a second.

      A voice vote was taken. One member was in opposition to the resolution. The motion passed.

    3. Support of the 9th Circuit Remaining Intact

    4. Allison Mendel moved the adoption of this resolution and it was seconded. The Board recommended adoption of the resolution, but the vote was split.

      Grant Hunter spoke against the resolution and said it was unreasonable that decisions affecting Alaska are made in California.

      Ken Diemer said he had been the supervisor of staff attorneys at the 9th Circuit. He said that California judges fill 12 of 28 judicial seats; 6 of 12 seats have been appointed by a republican President. Democrats and Republicans are evenly split. There are 3-4 vacancies.

      The members voted 61 - 33 in favor of the resolution (to keep the 9th Circuit intact.)

  8. Other Business

  9. There was no other business.

  10. Election of Officers

  11. The Board presented the following slate of officers:

    President: John Tiemessen
    President-elect: Matt Claman
    Vice President: Sid Billingslea
    Treasurer: Philip Pallenberg
    Secretary: Bill Granger

    It was moved, seconded and unanimously approved.

  12. Adjourn

  13. The meeting was adjourned after a record 15 minutes.
     Alaska Time Designed and Developed by Tex R Us LLC.